Total novice

Hi folks
Thanks again
As said earlier I have a Kent badger brush for years along with a standard modern cartridge job
Just bought my first razor was only £9 so worth a go a. Merkur 33c

But still very much would like a straight razor ... Keen but apprehensive at same time .
Looking at another brush too from a very skilled kind gent whose known here .

Can't wait for 33c to arrive .

I gave a soap puck in a Bonny wooden bowl but no idea what it is

Any recommendations for soaps / oils & where to buy ?

Paul

Welcome to TSR. You're on the threshold of a fascinating, lifelong, out-of-pocket experience!

For soaps, etc, you're bound to find a bewildering array of choice in the "Buy/Sell/Trade" forum.

Regards,
Chris

Hi Paul. I'm a complete novice to DE shaving too. Just had my first De wet shave today. Not too bad, I didn't cut myself! Used a Merkur 34C and a Personna lab Blue blade with Simpsons Sandalwood cream and a Omega synthetic brush. Where are you based? I'm in Dundee and there is a fantastic shave shop in Dundee city centre called The Gentlemans Groom Room. http://www.thegentlemansgroomroom.com

I'm in Montrose ,
Merkur 33c I have,
I found that shop near 8 years ago and bought a Kent badger hair brush and Taylor's of bond street soap but always used modern cartridge razors till last week , need to get back down to Dundee have a browse ,
Very keen for some reason on trying a straight tho [emoji52]

Cheers
Paul

Welcome! I'm just along the road just outside Brechin :) Gentlemans groom room is a great place for a browse or if you want some seriously good soap at an excellent price try ordering from https://www.facebook.com/OSPSoaps James is a member on here and I've just taken delivery of a couple and they're great.

Get used to the DE first then see about a straight as a lot of the skills are transferable :)

Welcome to the forums.