Total novice

Hi there
NE Scotland here, Angus area , total novice to this, other than have a cake of soap in a wooden bowl and a plastic handled badger hair brush that I've used for years along with a plastic modern cartridge type wilkinson razor.

Found on another forum deer antlered brushes which were beautiful and got me thinks about a cut throat razor , all comments so far all positive , so thinking of trying one but apprehensive.
Absolutely no idea what kind , brand make marque etc to look for and what to avoid .

Cheers
Paul

Cheers guys

So what would you recommend for a novice
For a straight razor ,
Double edge or single ?
What marque / model ?

Paul

It's very much horses for courses, but you can't go wrong with a razor from Merkur (34C) or Muhle (R89) or Edwin Jagger (DE89) for a DE. I'm not an SE user so I can't say for sure on those. For straights, again, not a user (yet) so I'll leave that to those who know :)

Hi Paul,

for DE razors @nick_s has given good advice above. I'd start there, get confident and then look at the 'Lending pool' forum to see if you can borrow a straight to see if they are for you... SE razors can be had cheaply, almost all vintage. EverReady 1912s and Schick injectors are available for little money on BST or ebay and you still can get blades. For me the fun is in the variety, but get your basics sorted first. Good preparation is the key. After that you can enjoy a good shave with almost anything.

Welcome

Andreas

Merkur 34c - probably the only razor you'll ever need. Start slow and steady and use the same kit for EVERY shave till you've got it down. Same kit means same razor, same blade, same soap or cream, same brush, same aftershave, same everything. Takes out the variables and lets you concentrate on your technique. Of course, I never listened to all those wise souls who advised me the same and took the rockier, less travelled path......figures! :oops::rolleyes:

Oh aye, welcome along sir.

Hi Paul,
welcome along to TSR.