Shatner, Rocket Man

I once showed that to a colleague in the lab I did my Masters in. After he picked his jaw up off the floor, he (as an ex-pot smoker himself) declared that "The Shat" had to be smoking a very strong sample.

Rocket Man said:
Apparently William Shatner is also a Rocket Man, as he tells us in this 'interpretative' performance from 1978:

Shatner_Rocket_Man

Hi there,

Your avatar is one I'm pretty familiar with, having grown up watching that show as a kid. Yep, a new episode was shown every Sunday morning, and if you missed it you were screwed. No telling how many years till it was run again.

Living in Chicago back then in the 1950s, we were able to receive five tv channels...all black and white. One was a PBS station, which was worthless to a kid at all times.

Some great music in those old shows, Got me interested in Wagner and Liszt (Le Prelude), which was a very good thing.

Martin

[/quote]

Hi there,

Your avatar is one I'm pretty familiar with, having grown up watching that show as a kid. Yep, a new episode was shown every Sunday morning, and if you missed it you were screwed. No telling how many years till it was run again.

Living in Chicago back then in the 1950s, we were able to receive five tv channels...all black and white. One was a PBS station, which was worthless to a kid at all times.

Some great music in those old shows, Got me interested in Wagner and Liszt (Le Prelude), which was a very good thing.

Martin

[/quote]

Hi Martin, I loved watching the show as a kid too, but when it was repeated on the BBC in the 70's! Remember the suspense of the cliffhangers at the end of each episode? I still think the Rocket is kind of cool. I always thought that Dale Arden was worth blasting off for too!

chrisbell said:
I once showed that to a colleague in the lab I did my Masters in. After he picked his jaw up off the floor, he (as an ex-pot smoker himself) declared that "The Shat" had to be smoking a very strong sample.