Newbie Q, what is the difference between soap and cream?

As above really, as some of you may have read I am new to the world of DE shaving but I seem to have got the hang of mapping my beard very quickly and have not suffered many niks.... touch wood!

I am however using up my old gillette gel. I have already sought advice about brushes but as a noob, I am struggling to grasp the difference between cream and soap. I used a sample pack of Menscience advanced shave formula I received with my Merk tonight, but could not really notice a marked improvement over the gel - other than a little less clogging. Is this classed as a cream or a lotion, and would this have been applied by a brush rather than by hand?

I have tried the search function but there are too many "common words"

Thanks in advance.

Shave soap comes in a hard cake or "puck". Sometimes, less often, in a stick as well. It's solid, and you wet it and work some lather off it with your wet brush. Then build up the lather in your bowl.
Cream is just that, it looks creamy, you pick up a smallish amount out of a tub or a pot with the tips of your brush, then build up the lather as before. Sometimes it comes in a tube and you squeeze a small amount into your mug or bowl and you work it up as before.

Cream is generally regarded by many as easier and slightly quicker to get a good lather from as there's moisture there already. I disagree though, I've always got a quick lather from hard soap. Suppose it might depend on what soap you use.

At the end of the day, they're both soap, there to cushion and lubricate, and they're used in much the same way. Try both, see what you think. A bit of trial and error has to be key... I'm still learning myself and will be for a long time, but I still use both.

Jonboy,