My First DE

daz

After the demise of one of my straight razors I decided to get myself another one. The question was "what do I get?"
I decided on a DE as I have never used one before and would prove useful for when time is short and travelling. After a fair bit of searching I decided there was no point in spending a fortune to find out I couldn't get on with it, so this afternoon I popped into Boots. A couple of quid lighter I went back to work to wait on my lift home. I took the Boots razor out of the packet and was a bit dissapointed at the plastic handle, but what do you expect for £3.50?
After a few seconds thought I unscrewed the handle and checked the thread size, M5.
Mmhhh, I have a good quantity of aluminium and brass rod that was destinned for projects that never took off and I had just finished making a pile of ali and brass priests for a fishing forum that I am on. So a quick clean down of the lathe, chucked up a length of aluminium and took off a light skim to clean up the outside. Drilled and tapped one end and turned a ten degree tapered end, turned the piece round and rounded off the end. Felt a wee bit slippy in the hand so it needed a knurl on it, could I find my knurling tool? No, so instead I ground up a wee cutter and put it in the tool holder. I plunged the tool in 0.25mm and back out, moved it up a bit and plunged back in. I repeated this till it looked about right and then gave the piece a quick polish with 600 grit paper, I would usually finish off with much finer stuff but I was in a rush to get it done before going home. Finally I fitted it to the head and decided it was worth the rush job. Not the prettiest looking handle I have ever made for something but it only took 20 minutes and has given me some nice ideas which will all go down on paper tonight after my first DE shave and a nice malt.
Original crappy plastic handle
[attachment=5226]
Nice shiny aluminium one
[attachment=5227]

You tell me which looks better