Merkur 34c - HD Review

This is a first class razor.

It is very well made and has a good heft to it as well. It is said to be a good begginers razor, well I can tell you that it also a good old hands razor as well.

It is not aggressive at all, however, it is a truely fantastic shaver. The best blade combo I have found is with the Gillette Super Thin. It performs very well with Feathers & Astra Super Platinums too.

Re: Merkur 34c - HD

I have been using the HD for over 6 months now, and love it. Easy blade replacment but not as easy as TTO.
It was my first razor, as a DE shaving novice ( noob to young people!), and I reckon I would have been happy using it as my only razor, but I cannot help wanting to try new razors now. god damn RAD.

I did use derbys with it, but got my sampler pack last week and a gillette yellow in it is better by a mile. Havent tried a feather yet.

I think this is a good 'new' razor for beginner and veteran alike. From what I am reading the new EJ might be a serious competitor to the HD. what has been said in these forums, the EJ has better workmanship/finish?, but I have no issues with my HD with the finish.

All that being said, I got a slim adjustable off Erwin and am loving that atm. :D Slim is definitely less aggressive than the HD, but I only have it set on 3 atm!

I agree, 34C & Derby Extras is like glueing a stanley blade to an old toothbrush, they used to cut me to bits. Found Iridiums & Feathers in a HD- smooth! People say that this little razor may be a bit on the small size for some. Let me tell you I have hands like shovels and it's a pleasure to use, comfortable and easy to manoeuvre.

A must have for any wet shaver. If there were to be an "every man's razor", the HD is it. Good weight and balance, aggressive enough without going too far, less head bulk than any TTO, superb with a Swede.