hello from london!

...although originally from hampshire.

two weeks ago, i was standing in the boots on bethnal green road looking for a new razor and the price of everything just made me angry. went home to consider options. a couple of days ago i bought a dovo shavette and 100 derby blades and, using the dregs of an old can of noxzema menthol, inflicted about half a dozen wounds on my face. my next moves were a styptic pencil, an alum block and a look around your forum for advice. so much to learn!

other than that, i'm a teacher. i like weird films; all sorts of music; thought-provoking books; daydreaming in the bath; walking; polish beer. all to the amusement and dismay, in varying ratios, of my loving wife.

Welcome.

I too am from London, well north.

You are brave going straight for the straight. Once you get the brush and shave cream or soap things really take off. The worse thing seems to be, many get into this old style shaving to save money, only to spend more on all the different creams and brushes.

thanks for the welcome, natjag.

You are brave going straight for the straight

probably foolish, but i'm a sucker for that noirish glamour.

many get into this old style shaving to save money, only to spend more on all the different creams and brushes

yes, having had a look around, i can see that danger. but these last few years i've been running out of ideas for what to put on my christmas list, so maybe a blessing in disguise.

what i can't stand is that feeling gillette or whoever was giving me that i was being robbed blind for some silly little plastic things. i guess that is common sentiment round here, which is a big reason i registered.

anyway, nice to meet you!

Hello, welcome from another Londoner.

i'm a sucker for that noirish glamour.

Yeah it's understandable, but there's still a certain glamour in an old fashioned double edge razor, it'll save you chopping your face up so much! People will still think you're incredibly manly. :lol: