Do you care where your bristles come from

I'm new to De shaving and coming on here has helped me tremendously. I bought my razor a Muhle R89 and then just convinced myself I had to have a Badger brush as that is what I saw everyone using. I purchased a Simpsons. Very nice. But then I got to thinking. Where do the bristles come from? I'm no animal activist or vegetarian and I know animals have to pass on so to speak for these bristles to be harvested. I did a bit of checking. Not difficult as Simpsons state they use Chinese Badger Bristles in their leaflet. That got me worrying as the Chinese aren't regarded as being exactly animal friendly. I'm not having a go or trying to stir up a hornets nest I just am interested on others feelings. Are Badger brushes a necessity?

I'm new to De shaving and coming on here has helped me tremendously. I bought my razor a Muhle R89 and then just convinced myself I had to have a Badger brush as that is what I saw everyone using. I purchased a Simpsons. Very nice. But then I got to thinking. Where do the bristles come from? I'm no animal activist or vegetarian and I know animals have to pass on so to speak for these bristles to be harvested. I did a bit of checking. Not difficult as Simpsons state they use Chinese Badger Bristles in their leaflet. That got me worrying as the Chinese aren't regarded as being exactly animal friendly. I'm not having a go or trying to stir up a hornets nest I just am interested on others feelings. Are Badger brushes a necessity?
Short answer: No.
Top badger brushes are several times the price of top synthetics. I don't have a badger brush myself, but I doubt that they are several times as good as my synthetics, so I'm not even tempted to buy a badger brush. And that's without considering animal welfare.
YMMV

Ive just got rid of my only badger ( NF2202) and now use either horse or hog.