Crabtree and Evelyn

Hi

Just been wandering around the shops and noticed in Crabtree and Evelyn that they do a 'west Indian lime' soap and cream, along with many others.

Has anyone ever used these? What are your thoughts?

Mark

Hi
I picked some of this up in the cream version a few weeks ago (I warn you now I am no expert!). I found the scent initially is nice, but is not particularly strong once lathered. I found the cream gave a smooth shave and I enjoyed using it. I would definitely purchase some more

Adam

Avoid the soap as if it were the plague IMO it lathers as well as hibiscrub and smells like dettol. For the price you can do a lot better. I dont have hard water tried with 5 different brushes, soaked the puck, grated the puck and still no good

I use C&E soaps with no problem at all. I like them quite a lot maybe not in the very top rank as Tabac but not too far behind. I've never had a problem lathering them and the wooden bowls are very nice.

I like their creams and currently have tubes of Sienna and Limes on the go. C&E creams are a staple for me along with creams from TOBS, The Real Shaving Co. and The Body Shop. I've also been using C&E's WI Limes aftershave balm and it too is excellent. Generally, I don't use balms, preferring alcohol-based aftershaves, but I find the C&E Limes very effective.

Nishy said:
Avoid the soap as if it were the plague IMO it lathers as well as hibiscrub and smells like dettol. For the price you can do a lot better. I dont have hard water tried with 5 different brushes, soaked the puck, grated the puck and still no good

Agreed, I'm in a hard water area too and trying to get it to lather was like watching England over the years trying to repeat the 1966 world cup, very painful indeed, and of cause non-existent!