Cheesy soaps!

I might have found this mildly amusing if it hadn't happened to me.

A long while back I noticed that a Proraso shaving soap (old formula) I had used and left in its plastic container had a strong and distinct cheesy smell. After giving it a good rinse (bowl and soap) and leaving the lid off for a good while I put the lid back on and checked it a few days later and it was fine.
Just had a similar thing happen with my Kent (Mitchell's Wool Fat), although the smell isn't as strong. This has been in a Kent wooden bowl and was first used in there a few days ago. I have left the lid off to aerate for a while and may also give it a wash. Anyone know what causes this?
As I believe to be good practice I leave the lids off soaps for ten minutes or more after they've been used. It could be I forgot in these cases or is something else causing it?

Greetings

I have no personal experience of this but have read that soaps containing animal fats ie lanolin/tallow can under certain storage conditions go rancid in the same way as a block of butter or lard etc.

This explanation seems to make sense.

Regards
Dick.

Thanks. That makes sense for the Kent (MWF) but what about Proraso? I thought that didn't have any animal (by)products in? I have the ingredients for my Proraso:
Water, Stearic Acid, Cocos nucifera (Coconut Oil), Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Sorium Lauryl Sulfate, Eucalyptus globulus (Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil), Propylene Glycol, Menthol, Parfum (Fragrance), Amyl Cinnamal, Eugenol, Geraniol, Methylparaben, Ethylpagaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Eucalyptol, Boric Acid, Camphor, PEG-150 Distearate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Borate, BHT
I suppose it wouldn't have to be animal-based to go rancid, but it does have that rancid butter/strong cheese smell about it.