Buying a hone and second razor

Hi,

I am a newbie to straight shaving and i am looking for some help when it comes to purchasing your first hone. I only want to buy one at the moment for touch up etc rather than restoration, is there a particular grit that would be a best all round and Also i've seen mention of couticle stones for honeing, are these any good?

Basically what would you guys recommend for a first hone lol

Lastly, i started straight shaving recently and love it! (despite the many nicks and cuts at the beginning lol)

I currently shave with a Dovo "Prima Silver Steel" and i am looking for a second razor as i understand that alternating razors is a gd idea (plus i like the idea of starting a collection lol)

So with this in mind i was originally looking at TI razors, particularly the inclined nose C135 razor or one of the Spartacus Dreadnought point razors. But i have seen on the net that there are major problems with the quality control of TI razors as well as somewhere i did read that they were prone to rusting.

Any help regarding TI razors or recomendations of different razors that would be gd for a second razor would be greatly appreciated by a novice like me :D

I can't help with TI razors but with regards to touch up hones 8000 grit upwards is generally considered a finisher, so good for touch ups.
I don't own one but modern synthetics such as a Shapton Glass stone at 16k grit and Naniwa Superstone 10k or 12k are good. I understand that vintage barbers hones tend to be in the region of 8K although some are better and natural stones shouldn't really carry a grit rating as being natural they vary however in current production there are cheap but slow Chinese 12k stones (although probably not really equivalent to 12k) which work well with some effort and coticules which tend to come out equivalent to the about the 8-10K range.