A Week Old Convert

Hi everyone I'm Jake from Potters Bar. Been lurking around for 10 days, I thought it's time I've joined. :icon_razz:

I've been shaving for 15 years ever since I was 15. Always shaved with cartridges and for the past 2 years alternating between electric foil shaver and cartridges. I have a sensitive skin, thick & coarse facial hair and for the past few years developed a facial eczema.

I've always hated shaving and the beard. Shaving always irritated my skin with burns/bumps and ingrown hairs and the eczema made this worse. My shaving cycle was between 2 to 5 days, depending on how much the skin is healed but after a shave I was back to angry red face with razor burns and bumps.

I was always looking for something to make shaving a better experience but nothing was working. About 10 days ago I was finally fed up with cartridge and the electric shaver, I've binned everything and started searching for something better. I knew about the Double Edge safety razors and Straight razors but always been scared of them. I thought it would be easier to clean and cheaper too if I could just summon enough courage shave with DE.

So I started to google DE and from subreddits to forums lots of information was on my screen. After reading for couple of days I was convinced and ordered; Parker 22R, Badger Brush, different brand of blades, Arko, Proraso Red and TOBS Sandalwood soap/cream.

Even though I've been shaving everyday for the past week, my face is cleared! All redness, razor burns/bumps disappeared. For the first time in my life I look forward to next shave and actually enjoy the experience! :D

Theshavingroom and few other forums have been an incredible source of information and help. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you.

~Jake