7 day set on eBay for £1200: pure madness?

I've just seen this on eBay: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OFFERS-Antique-Set-Mappin-Webb-7-Day-Razors-Coromandel-Brass-Inlaid-Box-/140840378764

A lovely set for sure but the Thursday razor has a big chip and crack on edge. A lot of work needed to make good.

How can the seller offer this up for £1200?

They're just fishing I guess. Anyone can make an offer up to that price and perhaps they're hoping someone wants it at all costs.... I'm no expert on straight razors but to me if there's pieces missing from the blade then I don't see how that could be repaired.

Not for me I'm afraid!

Well, £200 a piece for 6 M&W razors in ivory scales in such a nice case aren't to far off... I think that's where the finish price would end, approx., if the seller had an auction (and not started there). I could be wrong though, it actually happened once, in 1982 ... :D

A pal of mine had a 1950s Bendix washing machine that had only acted as a spin dryer for years. He asked me to help him take it to the tip. I stuck it on Ebay for a start price of £5, bidder to collect. It sold for £235.

So you never know!

Fido said:
A pal of mine had a 1950s Bendix washing machine that had only acted as a spin dryer for years. He asked me to help him take it to the tip. I stuck it on Ebay for a start price of £5, bidder to collect. It sold for £235.

So you never know!

That can be the beauty of eBay. One person's rubbish is another's treasure etc.

I doubt you'd have got £235 if you'd put a buy it now price. For the money the seller is asking. I wouldn't expect a damaged razor but a set in very good condition.

I do think the Thursday one is wrecked and surely that must affect the value.
I cant deny that retro generates a lot of interest on the bay - right now I have a 1964 newspaper about the TSR-2 and there are just shy of 40 watchers and my 1960's tin of shoe polish has 10! Weird.