1st Attempt at scales

Finally got round to building up the courage to pin my 2 sets of scales I've just made.
Red are acrylic and black are buffalo horn. I've never done anything like this before so I'm reasonably happy with the outcome but they could be better.
I found the acrylic ones pretty easy to work with the horn ones were a bit more of a challenge and were the first ones of the pair I made. Going to attempt some wood ones next.
The acrylic ones were pinned with solid brass panel pins 1.6mm and the horn ones with 1.6mm brass rod. to be honest I didn't really notice any difference but seeing as this is the first time pinning I'm not exactly the voice of experience here.
Note to myself next time I photograph scales I need to remember to wipe the dust off them as well :)

FOK3ArN.jpg

LI7OuJO.jpg

I think they look splendid - certainly a vast improvement on my early efforts. If you don't mind a couple of comments - it looks as though you have gone for a spacer rather than wedge - there's a good reason for using a wedge, apart from looks. It's designed to roughly match the taper on the tang, therefore, when you pin at both ends you are creating a similar bowed angle which helps the wider part of the tang to seat in the scales without rubbing.
Personally, I like to see a bit more profiling along the edges of the scales - it takes away what can sometimes be a bit of a chunky look.

The pinning is really good.

Thanks for the comments and encouragement everyone. Ive started some wood ones today so hopefully they will be ok. I've had problems making the wedges so that is something I need to practice these were all sanded by hand as I've no power tool other than a dremel that used to do a final polish. Im guessing I could try sandpaper on a flat surface to make the wedge I think the mistake I made was cutting the wedge material roughly to size before I tried to taper it and therefore it was difficult to handle.