Wilkinson Sword and Lord International - DE Stainless Steel Razor Blades

I have been using Lord's, Shark Super Stainless DE blade for many years; it is what I would describe as a mid-sharp blade with assertive blade feel but still efficient, comfortable, forgiving and with reasonable longevity. That Shark SS gives loads of feedback and affords a unique voice to most razors especially those with a hollow handle. It is also good value for money, with 100 blades readily available in the UK for about GBP £5 (USD $7), when purchased in bulk. Lord also offer many of their PTFE coated Stainless Steel blades with “Platinum” and “Chrome” coatings, wether these coating names are marketing terms or describe the actual coating used I am not able to determine, but many of us quickly ascertain at the beginning of our journey what type of blade coating suits us.

Recently I have been trying Lords ASCO, Silver Star and Classic - Super Stainless blades (thanks to recent threads), each of them with different characteristics (they are very different blades to this shaver, despite some users describing them as the same blade). Whilst I enjoy Gillette's SharpEdge, Mostochlehmash's Rapira Super Stainless, Persona's Med prep, Feathers and KAI's, depending on the razor, the consistency of Lord's Shark, Asco (Orange) and Silver Star blades across all of my razors, is exceptional. The blades are well balanced, in terms of comfort and sharpness. Not as sharp as Russian Yellow's or the Japanese duo, but still give close shaves, even the ASCO, which I would describe as a mild blade but not Voskhod mild.