use by date for soap

Hello

I'm new to DE shaving (and this is my first post on this, or any shaving, forum).

I've bought a couple of soaps and creams and fancy getting some more but I wondered if the soap deteriorates with age. And if I'd be better off limiting the number I have at any one time, using them all up, then restocking with some fresh new ones. I presume that creams in a tube will last for decades because they remain more or less sealed in use.

It sounds like many of you have a dozen or so on the go at the same time though. Which sounds good to me :) And probably means that there's no problem with keeping soap going for years.

I inherited a travel set from my Father-in-law at the weekend that used to be his Dad's. That contains an unused, still in the silver foil, Palmolive stick. The ultimate test would be to see if that is still ok. It's at least 20 years old, probably much older! It's a much darker green that a new stick, but smells like soap so I think it's ok.

Tony

Commercially produced soap will keep for decades - the worst that happens with it typically is that it dries out more and gets a cracked appearance. Creams by virtue of mostly being liquid soap emulsions may separate slightly, but gentle mechanical mixing will usually sort that out.

hunnymonster said:
Commercially produced soap will keep for decades - the worst that happens with it typically is that it dries out more and gets a cracked appearance.

and lose their scent due to slow evaporation from the soap bar (which then acts as a slow release formulation for the scent -- some soaps are actually made, and used for that purpose).

Creams by virtue of mostly being liquid soap emulsions may separate slightly, but gentle mechanical mixing will usually sort that out.