Tips for first time knot change

Hi folks,

I’ve never done this before and am not even sure if this is the right place to post, but I fancy swapping the knots over on a couple of Razorock 24mm synthetics. For a total beginner, what method do you recommend? I had a quick glance at a couple of YouTube videos which involved pans of hot water, steaming, etc.

But I wanted to check here as the last thing I want to do is wreck the things. If anyone can post either a simple tutorial video, text, etc. then I would be most grateful.

Thanks

The point of steaming is to soften the glue and fingers-crossed, the knot pops out. More often than not, it doesn't. Removal of a knot is often destructive to either the knot or handle, depending upon which piece you want to keep.

Just be prepared for that.

Thanks. Perhaps it’s best to not bother then.

You can ceratinly steam it ... if the knot pulls out, great! If not, nothing lost. If the other one doesn't you can always re-glue the first.

On that, just make sure neither handle is a (vintage) Butterscotch type handle, as steaming will bleach the colour. You said "Razorock" so unlikely, but keep that nugget tucked away.

You can ceratinly steam it ... if the knot pulls out, great! If not, nothing lost. If the other one doesn't you can always re-glue the first.

On that, just make sure neither handle is a (vintage) Butterscotch type handle, as steaming will bleach the colour. You said "Razorock" so unlikely, but keep that nugget tucked away.

Thanks. No they are just black / clear handles. How do I do this then? Pan of hot water, then the brushes in some kind of bowl inside the pan?

Then clean the brush cavity & knot bottom, and stick down with 2 part epoxy?

Thanks. No they are just black / clear handles. How do I do this then? Pan of hot water, then the brushes in some kind of bowl inside the pan?

Then clean the brush cavity & knot bottom, and stick down with 2 part epoxy?