The Alum Test: does anyone ever pass?

As everyone will probably know, an alum block is a great learning tool which gives instant, stinging criticism of your technique.

Here's a question for more experienced scrapers: can you normally do a full BBS shave without any stinging?

I'm still at the grasshopper stage of my shave-fu, just trying to do a CCS, and I always get a few stings with alum. After a few hours my face feels pretty much normal. No lasting raw or damaged sensation. Is that about standard for a DE shave?

I don't get cuts or weepers, but I still get a sensation from an alum block especially if my face has been derma planed by an Feather AC straight razor. It's like aftershave you will always get a sensation.

I'm by no means an advanced shaver but I've been doing it for nine months or so. When I'm at home I use an alum block every shave and still get a few "stings" on my neck, which is a particularly troublesome area for me, almost every shave. That happens even if there are no noticeable nicks or weepers.

If I do manage to cut myself then there's nothing like an alum block to help my skin recover (it really does work!) but my goodness it really does sting!!

I find my neck quite difficult, so I usually have what I would call a "middling" level of alum sting all over my neck. If I have a really good shave, it's only a very light tingle.

I have owned an Alum block for a few years and do use it occasionally, but generally find that ice cold water is just as effective at stopping / closing up any nicks or weepers.

To answer the OP... No, i dont pass - Alum always stings a little

Wouldn't have a clue as to what an alum block is used for or what one is. Guess I learnt the hard way. Bleed and get fed up with bleeding.

I have always wet shaved since the mid 70's and everything else since then was a case of 'upping the ante' and adapting to changes in razor.

Thanks everyone for the replies. Useful info.