Sony alpha 5000 Close Up

Crossan

Supporter
Supporter
Hey All,

I'll preface this with the fact that I am an absolute novice when it comes to cameras. I've had a Sony alpha 5000 for a while now. I wanted a decent but easily portable camera, which for me it has done what I've wanted it to. What I'm struggling with at the moment is close up shots.

So to that end, does anyone have any experience with the camera and is anyone able to recommend a macro lens that might be suitable?

I know you can buy the made to measure one and that may very well be the exact one I need, but I believe you can also buy convertor collars so I would think that might open the field a bit.

I don't have a budget, that's not to say I don't have a limit (I haven't won the lottery just yet), but I don't know what these things cost so can't set my budget appropriately.

Any help or advice anyone could offer would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Marc

Take a look at reverse macro ... where you use a double-sided adapter to attach a second lens backwards. Look also at M42 lenses which are manual focus. Any (good) 50mm could be used as the backwards lens. You just need to know the screw pitch/diameter of each lens and get an adapter, accordingly.

You can also get an M42 adapter for the Sony, so you can use the lens with the camera.

Another idea is to look for some close-up adapters ... these screw onto the front of your regular lens and can be stacked, so a 4x plus 2x plus 1x will give you pretty much a 16x. This is good for close-up. The reverse lens above is for macro, which is VERY close-up.

Close-up adapters will get you at least closer to what you want to picture with the kit you already have.

Ah that's great, thank you man. I'm not after close ups to the point that I'm nigh on touching the object so the screw ons may be enough for my needs rather than going reverse/macro.