Should i leave it....

..for a month or so?

I'm very new to this 'proper shaving' but i saw on another thread the Merkur Vision, now i want it.

My questions to you Pro's is :

A. Should i wait until my face has accustomed itself to this new ritual?

B. Would an adjustable be of any benefit to me?

C. Sod it, it's a good looking piece and it will look good next to the sink.

Thanks in advance

Hi Swivel,

I always suggest that new DE shavers use the same kit for about a month. This allows then to get used to the process and also get the technique sorted. Once you become confident with this "starter" kit, you can then start to empty your bank account and try different razors, soaps, creams etc.

Ian

I started DE shaving in January and now have 3 razors :oops: the most recent one being an adjustable, a Merkur Futur, to be frank Iought to gave stuck with an non adjustable but couldn't wait either!

I would seriously recommend if you do get one that you leave it set low for several weeks while your techniques improves though.

Regarding the Vision, when I was looking into an adjustable I wanted a Merkur and did a lot of searching on the various forums, it appeared that there were more fans of the Progress and Futur than there were of the Vision.

On balance I would say wait, but patience is a virtue and I'm not very virtuous.

Jeltz said:
I started DE shaving in January and now have 3 razors :oops:

I daren't look at what i've spent in that time, i started de shaving around january and have at least 8 soaps 5 straight razors 2 de razors 3 brushes five hones, it's getting a bit crazy.

I've never used a vision so i can't comment that much but what i have heard is the quality needs to be looked at, i've heard that the heads aren't aligned right on some models but like i said that's what i picked up from nosing through various forums it's probably a rare thing to happen anyway.