Pre-shave oils, do i need them?

So i've never used a pre-shave product before my shaves, i shave 3 times a week and usually get a good close comfortable shave. Sometimes i'll get a few spots and breakouts and stuff but no real irritation or redness.

I've been reading about pre-shave oils and lotions, to help with the shave process. Been looking at the Edwin Jagger pre-shave lotion in particular, thinking of giving this a go as i've heard good things.

Don't want to use an oil though as apparently it messes up your razor?

I find proraso pre shave cream the best option, it leaves the skin feeling cool (before and after the shave) and provides a nice slick base layer before any shaving cream/soap is added. I recently tried a shave without the above and found it more tuggy and slightly heated, (all other variables kept the same) so for me its well worth it

I have the EJ Mentholated pre/post shave cream. It's fun ... cooling and acts as an extra glide for the soap or cream on top. Completely and utterly abstracted, it probably is not strictly necessary but nice to use as part of the ritual. It is fun as a post-shave cream, applied as a tiny dot to a cold wet face. Lovely menthol breeze.

Otherwise, if I'm using a soap, I use olive oil as a pre-shave. Yup! Just olive oil ... then the soap. I find this help prevent the soap from drying my face out. That's where it can make a difference.

Messes up your razor? Nah ...

As you shave every other day, I'm not sure a PSO would benefit you greatly - a shower and a good lather are what you need.

On stubble, I find a PSO very useful. Out of the shower, on with PSO, cup of coffee and TSR and email, into the bathroom and on with Proraso Green Pre-Shave and by the time I lather up my beard is soft and slippy, razor passes as smoothly as smooth.