Linux users and/or developers?

Linux admins, developers etc, tend to have his beardy stereotype (thanks to Stallman amongst others)

I'm a software developer on Linux and Mac. Given that I am on this forum I'm usually clean shaven.
So I was wondering how many other folks like myself visit this forum.

If you're a dev, what's your language and platform?

I dual boot Windows and Ubuntu but, I have to admit, I tend to stick with Windows. It's due to work more than anything. When I come to replace my laptop I'll probably keep this machine to use to mess about with (i.e. trial some different distros) without fear of causing irreparable damage!

I use Xubuntu on my pc, I've a laptop and netbook, both with Windows installed but rarely used on them as I use puppy linux (PuppEee on netbook) on both. I have an old pentium pc I use as a music server only, again using Puppy. I boot from Flashdrives a lot of the time, to try Distros or save SSHD usage (and to use other peoples machines!). All my Harddrives are partitioned so that I can install windows if I wish - but I don't.
love'n'joy
Lloyd

I have messed around with dozens of linux distros and wherever possible I use Mint rather than Windows. I'm not a developer (unless a few lines of BASIC on the BBC Micro counts) but I maintain an interest in tech stuff.

I have been using Ubuntu since 8.04.
I don't do any dev work, I'm just a normal user. But its fun playing.
I think I have only ever found ONE thing that didn't work in Ubuntu, some USB printer server device. Turns out I didn't need it in the end.
I would like to learn to do more. I'm currently starting to play with Raspberry Pi. And I have a couple of old PC's I need to restore for people. Drives not seen under Windows, but connected to a Ubuntu machine I can see all the data.

As for face hair and IT, there does seem to be a trend.
I've just had 2 weeks of not shaving and there is something about looking at a monitor whilst stroking your facial hair.