Did anyone teach you to shave?

self taught as well via mantic

old folks bought me a battery foil shaver when they thought i needed it, tried to shave with it and the bloody thing wouldn't cut a thing
i thought it was broke so i stuck it on my tongue to test it :oops:

it was working fine :lol:

i had a flip top hinged DE as well, can't find any pictures on tinterweb of what it was but i think it was a Wilkinson Sword of some kind
used the usual canned foam but switched to a brush and black bowl WS soap years ago after inheriting grandads old brush
was happy with that and my Sensor

old man is a disposable user and won't bother with a DE but i have got him into proper aftershaves, balms and brushless creams

we also inherited grandads old razor but can't find it for love nor money
it was in a purple lined case with two metal blade boxes for new and used blades

My Dad passed away before I was shaving...my Mom tossed all his gear, but I seem to remember an old TTO that I played with but I know he used an injector later. My first razor was an electric my Mom got me, likely because she had no clue about face shaving. At some point I bought an aluminum Atra that I used for 30 years until I started with DEs a few months ago. I learned to shave from a library book on grooming. But naturally it just said "Wash your face and cover it with shaving cream and carefully run the razor over your face. I really don't remember how long it took me to get the hang of it.

But looking at pics of Dad, he was never particularly well-shaved, so I might not have gotten such good advice!

jansob said:
Thanks, spent a few months at another forum but decided to broaden my horizons a bit!

They are a good bunch here and I am glad that I joined the forum.

You should post a little bit about yourself in <!-- l --><a class="postlink-local" href="http://www.theshavingroom.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=23" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">viewforum.php?f=23</a><!-- l -->

Cheers

Adam