Crusty Old Pens

Crusty Old Pens ... no, not that crusty old thing ... :icon_rolleyes:

Hi folks! You know me ...

Do I need another obsession? Pens? Really?

Well, I've avoided this forum for fear that my wallet might collapse, but finally, I've decided to jump in and see what's going on and curiously, I already have a bunch of pens.

I have a whole load of '80s and '90s Parkers and Platignums. I used to be a bit of a writer back in my 20s and loved the flow of real ink. Quink blue black, for me.

Rediscovering this, I found most of my pens are gummed up, dried and crusty. I have one Parker which I think they call a Vector today which still writes and a refill which is still wet, so I'm rather enjoying some practice writing this evening.

So, those pens which are all dried up, how do I revive them? Soak in water, fill and go for it?

Looking around, I do like the idea of a dipping nib. I've seen a nice mahogany holder, but I'm stumped as to nibs - they all seem to be calligraphy nibs. I've seen mixed bags of antique and vintage nibs - is this the sort of deal I need to be looking out for?

You advice would be very much appreciated. Meanwhile, I have a flowing Parker and I'm going to use it!

RE: Yo! I'll jump in here ...

pjgh said:
So, those pens which are all dried up, how do I revive them? Soak in water, fill and go for it?

If you have an ultrasonic cleaner, you could use that, I certainly do with my two FPs. Just a couple of cycles in warm water seems to do the trick. I dab them dry with kitchen roll then get some ink through them straight away.

As to the "Do I need another obsession question", if you have to ask, it's already too late :icon_razz::icon_razz::icon_razz: