Böker 'The Celebrated' Wenge Experienced Opinions

Crossan

Supporter
Supporter
Hi All,

I was wondering whether anyone had any experience with the Böker 'The Celebrated' Wenge razor:

Böker The Celebrated

The thing looks like a hatchet (and I am new to straights so I'm sure the square point would leave some interesting marks) but for some reason I am continually drawn to it.

I do keep looking for vintage razors as an option, as I see they tend to be highly recommended, but I'm wary about ebaying it!

Anyway, any input would be most welcome.

Cheers

Crossan

boker-the-celebrated-wenge--1.jpg

Apparently it's a "singing" razor ie a delicate full-hollow blade not a near-wedge hand-axe.

When I first saw the pic I thought it looked like a very wide blade but it seems to be only 6/8 which makes me wonder if it's shorter than usual?

Apparently it's a "singing" razor ie a delicate full-hollow blade not a near-wedge hand-axe.

When I first saw the pic I thought it looked like a very wide blade but it seems to be only 6/8 which makes me wonder if it's shorter than usual?
I'm not totally sure to be fair, it may very well be, from the description on Invisible Edge they say it's more like a 7/8 when measured from the top of the spine so it might be an optical illusion, though Boker obviously indicate it is a 6/8. This is my struggle though, just can't seem to find a lot of information on it.

It is a very pretty razor , one thing to note is it is extra Hollow , so if it is your first razor they may not be ideal.

Only experience i have with Boker is one of their vintage red injun which was excellent.
Ah ok so with it being extra hollow and square point might not be the best bet unless I fancy getting skin grafts. It wouldn't quite be my first razor, but in terms of actual hands on experience it pretty much would be.

Oh well I can always look on in envy until I get a bit more experience then revisit.