Blades

I am new to SE shaving, having been gifted a 1912 Ever Ready.

I enjoyed my first two shave, and so bought 100 blades from Connaught. When they arrived in a box, the box stated "GEM Stainlaess Steel Coated, fits all standard razor blade tools, for industrial use only"

Has anyone an opinion regarding these blades being used for shaving?

Is this normal? The picture on the website, of the blade packet, is slightly different.

The gem blades I ordered from connaught came in packs of ten housed in plastic containers.
I haven't seen any 'for industrial use only- on them.

Greetings

That is quite normal and you need not worry, they are the ones for shaving.

GEM/ASR/Personna make several types of Stainless SE blades (and carbon ones) but these are the only Stainless ones that say 'Coated', on the box and the only SE blades available in the UK of shaving quality, other than Feather SE's which do not fit many razors with or without the addition of a spine.

The same box is used to contain ordinary Stainless Blades and on this box is the word 'Uncoated' or no mention at all of a coating these are not of shaving quality and I strongly recommend you do not try them, fool that I am, I have! You will find many such boxes of them for sale on E-bay at about a fiver a hundred. These will skin your face Hanibal Lecter style!

Regards
Dick.

Hi and thanks for the replies..

I did think they would be ok. The ones I got with the razor were in a plastic container and looked exactly the same as the ones I bought.

I was just a bit put off by the packaging.... I will give them a go with some confidence.

Dick, as I believe you are the forum SE guru, could you advise me on blade life? I use a DE blade for no more than 3 shaves as a rule (Polsilver, Rapira, Labs, Iridium Super) can I expect more, less or the same from an SE blade?

Regards,

Cyril

Hairsuite said: