Anyone Heard of These??

Hi all,just wondered if anyone has heard of these makes before I decide to buy of a pal.I'm quite new to this Real Man Shaving/Art so any advice would be welcome.

Razor 1)golden beehive

Razor 2)Kirschner Solingen

Razor 3)1A Silberstahl Garantie Solingen

I'm no detective here but the last two are definately german :mrgreen:

Okay.....so i've since found out that the golden beehive was made by marples and co and was made between the early eighteen hundreds and early nineteen hundreds.....it is in great condition and I know that they are now a maker of chisels and joinery tools.......anyway long story short I had to have it £20.00 no questions asked......is this good?

Marples of Sheffield had a Beehive logo and made razors. Founded in 1901 by Alfred Marples, a razor-grinder. First called "Alfred Marples & Co" then "Marples & Co" before WW1. The Beehive trade mark dates to 1911 - it belonged to another company (Slater Bros) before this time. Marples operated out of the Beehive Works in Mary Street Sheffield. Also made the "Warmer" brand razors. So not made before 1911 - this part of the firm ceased trading in the 1920s. £20 sounds like a steal!

Julius Kirschner & Sohn may be the makers of the other razor. The made and ground knives and other edged implements and the company was founded in 1878. Still operating as a cutlery and knife manufacturer.

The Garantie Solingen could have been made by any of the Solingen makers. 'Garantie' simply means guaranteed or warranted - it is not a makers name. It is also a 'silver steel' razor - since the early days of true silver-steel (invented by Faraday in 1824 - it did contain a small percentage of silver - he got Sandersons of Sheffield to make it into ingots to give to various razor makers like Rhodes of Sheffield) the alloy has had no silver content at all - it is just a bright, hard carbon tool-steel.

Regards,
Neil