anyone got a water filter? noob needs help pls :)

D

Deleted member 12673

hey people so i really want to start drinking more water now i dont know anything about water filters so im a total noob,
but i was wondering are these water filters legit? as in really good or gimmicky?

also which ones would you recommend?

ive got some health problems and one thing ive learnt about myself is thats ive got a serious addiction to fizzy drinks, anything sugary and also meat,
now i've noticed if i go a few days without fizzy drinks, sugary stuff and even meat believe it or not i get very irritable and it actually effects my mood

I knew nothing about water filters untill I put in some time on the internet and did a lot of research and after many hours I found a water filtering system that would work for me.
There are lots of systems for filtering water and you need to look into all of them as I did before your make any rash decisions because some are not cheap.

Paul.

i guess it all depends on where you live as to how much filtration you need.
Personally speaking i’m from Scotland and the water is very good.
infact i wouldn’t really consider one myself.
I know a lot of parts of England have heavy lime scale problems
It's not just lime scale that some of these filtration systems will filter out, some will deal with lots of nasty chemicals and heavy metals too.

Paul.

Because I live in the Thames Valley where the water is very hard, like 350ppm, and have a proper espresso setup, I actually need to use Reverse Osmosis to prevent my machine scaling up (the design of which makes descaling a major dismantling exercise, not just pouring descaler in).

Most 'under the sink' RO systems can waste 5l water to get one litre of filtered. However, I bought a thing that sits on the counter and filters on the go, from a 5l tank, of which 1 litre gets discarded for every 4 filtered.

It also replaces the kettle as you can choose cold, 65°C, 85°C and boiling.