Aftershave=Short Sharp Shock vs Moisturiser=Long Irritation

Still being a total newbie here, I thought I'd ask some advice regarding a problem I've had ever since I started shaving..

My routine consists of a shower or warm face wash with an alum application while I get my shaving gear sorted. The alum is then washed off and the later applied. Shaving with either a Mach 3 or, more recently, a DE I go WTG, ATG and XTG or WTG and XTG depending on how sensitive my skin feels prior to shaving. Post shave, I wash with cold water, apply alum again, allow to dry and then enter the region of quandry......Aftershave, EDT or Moisturiser.

When I apply moisturiser after washing off the alum, my face never reddens except around the neck area, but give me an itch irritated feeling for ages afterwards. When i apply aftershave or EDT, the stinging sensation is gone within a few seconds and there is no lasting irritated feeling, it does however redden my face for a while.

The moisturiser I use is the Real Shaving Co Daily Soothing Balm, and the EDT I'm currently using is Hugo.

Has anyone else experienced this? Does anyone have any advice regarding whether I should persevere with the balm or continue using the EDT and 'short sharp shock' treatment?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Aftershave=Short Sharp Shock vs Moisturiser=Long Irrita

EDT is not aftershave... EDT is a perfume product, designed to smell not be used as an aftershave (unless it specifically says it's combination AS/EDT)

As for the Aftershave Lotion/Splash versus Balm/Moisturiser - I get breakouts if I use most balms or moisturisers - I don't with an aftershave lotion/splash so I use that.

Drop the alum, drop the against the grain and don't put EDT anywhere near freshly shaved skin.

See how that goes after a week or two fella, try only using either AS or ASB as well and see if it calms down.

Good luck.

Cheers for the responses so far guys, greatly appreciated.