Advice on getting started

p90

Hi all,

I am new to shaving with straight razors, so new that I don't yet have one and am looking for advice on how to get off the ground.

In looking for a straight razor I was on th trail of an entry level DOVO or a Broker Classic but then read some bits and pieces about the entry grade razors being poor and a cleaned up vintage being the way to go, which appeals.

I am looking to part with not much more than £100 for a razor, happy to go 5/8 or 6/8, and also am looking for a strop.

Being new I am not sure how I am going to take to it so don't want to blow too much money but also want something that will last me a good while.

Any advice on a solid starting set up would be gratefully received.

The newbie box looks great and may be something I would look to get into in the future but for now I just wanted to get started.

Thanks!

Hi mate and welcome to TSR.
I personally would buy a shave ready ( that's important) vintage razor and then get a paddle strop, both if kept well will last decades and a nice slick shaving cream or soap.
That's basically all you need and if you love it then feel free to fall down the rabbit hole and spend lots of your hard earned like the rest of us lol.

Hello and welcome to TSR p90.
It makes sense to buy a vintage straight razor that is shave ready and a leather strop.
You may love straight razor shaving or you may not so don't spend too much too soon. :)

Paul.

Welcome, it's a dark and dangerous path but it's a bloody fun one. Would only echo what's been said, go vintage shave ready. For a starter I could recommend billji1 on ebay, picked up my first vintage from the guy and the edge was excellent.

You can also pick up strops from him but I haven't tried those, I imagine they'll be decent. I prefer the wider 3" strops in general, negates the need for an x-stroke (for the most part), but it's a personal preference.

Above all, enjoy!