Nikon DSLR lenses

Just invested in a Nikon D3500 camera with the standard 18-55mm kit lens.
great set up, not too expensive and suits my needs. I'm a novice to photography so learning the ropes.
in time might invest in other lenses. I've heard 50mm prime lenses are good for portrait (bokeh).
Also thinking of a telephoto lens. The Tamron 70-300 gets good and bad reviews. Anyone used it and can comment

not in a position to spend hundreds of pounds on lenses so my yardstick is decent quality budget (if there is such a thing)
any advice appreciated.
Bryan

I use canon, so may be of no use to you, but as a general rule I'd say budget lenses can be good but go for something just slightly above the entry level and you'd see a big difference.

Mine came with two lenses, one of which being the Canon 70-300 USM. It was absolutely AWFUL for colour fringing everything in photos. On bright days nothing looked nice so I sold it (for £60 ) and bought a Canon 55-250 IS STM for about £240. The stabilisation was good, the new stepper motor worked fast and the photo quality was significantly better in most conditions. Not much more expensive, but newer model and better all round.

I own a 70-200 IS F2.8 now, but that cost a bucket load more. I wouldn't have bought that as an initial purchase, even with hindsight of the original lens being rubbish.

On a separate note, I signed up to a local Facebook photography "Buy/Sell" page, and people sell the Canon 70-200 (non stabilised) F4 for about £300 second hand, which also would have been a superb option to start out. Maybe theres one near you? 2nd hand lenses are an excellent way to get what you're after.

P.s. you definitely do also want a small prime, like a 50mm F1.8 which are fairly cheap. Like you said, for the bokeh.

great set up, not too expensive and suits my needs. I'm a novice to photography so learning the ropes.
in time might invest in other lenses. I've heard 50mm prime lenses are good for portrait (bokeh).