Help me to love a Straight Edge...

I have been using a Dovo Shavette for the last 6-8 years, and 6 months ago (after a couple of delayed attempts), I decided to hang up my shavette and buy myself a Dovo Carpe Diem.
Anticipation was high, and when my pre-sharpened (in addition to 'factory sharpened') arrived, I was excited to try it.
I was bitterly disappointed. I tried the hanging hair test, and it would not cut. I tried to shave the hairs on my arm - again, it failed. I thought that perhaps the edge had not been honed before I received it, so sent it back, unused, to be re-honed.

Once it had arrived back, I was again disappointed. The blade tugged and scratched over my face. It was perhaps slightly sharper - but was still like comparing a Bic disposable against a Gillette Mach 3.The blade was no way near as sharp as my shavette.
I contacted the seller, who explained that I was perhaps using it wrong, or had blunted it whilst stropping. (I had practiced stropping on an old straight edge that I have had for a number of years).
So I again sent it off to be re-sharpened.

On receiving the blade back, the shave was marginally better, but worlds apart from the clean shave of the Shavette
I was contacted by the seller to inform me that there were some small chips in the blade, probably caused by bad stropping, which he ground out.

I have now spent over £200 on this blade, and the sharpening, and still it under performs my expectations.
Having read many forums and spending a number of years preparing for the purchase of a SE, I had expected greatness. The stories and the comments about how amazing an SE is, and the slight snobbery against shavettes made me feel that purchasing an SE would be the next step.
However, I am now wondering if the whole straight edge glorification is misplaced and in fact a shavette does give the better shave, albeit without the pomp & ceremony of a straight edge (I just want a good shave - I'm not bothered about bragging rights!).