Confused Newbie

Greetings all, i am a newbie to the forum although i have lurked for a while.
Changed to an Edwin jagger DE89L from a Cartridge razor for the last three days and now have the worst shaving rash in my whole 52 years.
I am a little confused by it and would appreciate any advise.

My regime for the last few months has been

Pre shave Trumpers skin food
Crabtree and Evelyn soap applied with a Badger Brush
Cold water and Alum Block followed by Nivea sensitive balm.

The only thing thats changed is an Edwin Jagger with Derby blades instead of a Gillette fuston .

Welcome along firstly!

Switching to DE means relearning just about everything you think you know :) You have to let the weight of the razor do it's thing....no pressure! Then, you have to make sure you don't use any pressure. Ensure you know your beard, and pay attention to odd growth patterns (known as beard mapping) and try to go with the grain only for a while until you get the hang of using no pressure :)

There's a bit of a theme there, no pressure, you can do it :) Keep all other variables the same then consider trying some other blades as well, Derby can be in comparison to many blades, quite underwhelming. By keeping as much of your shave the same, you will eventually figure out what works and what doesn't for you.

Welcome along firstly!

Switching to DE means relearning just about everything you think you know :) You have to let the weight of the razor do it's thing....no pressure! Then, you have to make sure you don't use any pressure. Ensure you know your beard, and pay attention to odd growth patterns (known as beard mapping) and try to go with the grain only for a while until you get the hang of using no pressure :)