Wifi to Cable adapter?

Son has an Xbox in his room which he wants to connect to the net, it has an RJ45 socket but no wifi built in and cabling would be an pain. MS do an adapter for about £70 but it strikes me there might be a generic solution kind of a reverse of an access point.

Is there such a bit of kit? If so what's it called and would it be cheaper as he's trying to save up for it himself?

Probably easiest to get a home plug system. This enables you to run Ethernet around your ring main.

You plug one in by your router and connect it your router by cable, then plug the other in near the Xbox and connect that by cable.

Something like this.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/D-Link-DHP-307AV-PowerLine-Homeplug-Network/dp/B003L78F6U/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1361530558&sr=8-8

I have no personal experience of these though so am unable to recommend a specific one.

Lose the beard said:
Probably easiest to get a home plug system. This enables you to run Ethernet around your ring main.

You plug one in by your router and connect it your router by cable, then plug the other in near the Xbox and connect that by cable.

Something like this.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/D-Link-DHP-307AV-PowerLine-Homeplug-Network/dp/B003L78F6U/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1361530558&sr=8-8

I have no personal experience of these though so am unable to recommend a specific one.

I have one to get the BT vision to the master bedroom, we are in a three story house and it works a treat. No doubt it's a better option than wireless anyway.

If you go the Homeplug route make sure you buy EU type-approved ones (otherwise you risk becoming the subject of an OFCOM interference probe...). BT famously sent out a load that weren't which also wiped 2-3Mbit off the ADSL into the houses in question (and their neighbours).