We'll another newbie here

Hi all, just a quick introduction to the forums, I am afraid I am still using a multiple blade razor and I am now looking to purchase a starter set and will be having a good read through the threads to see if I can pick up any tips.

Can anyone point me towards a good starter set up, I don't want to buy cheap then regret it and have to buy again.

Thanks

Robert

Hi Robert and welcome

I think someone is actually selling a starter kit if you look on BST. You won't be able to put a "want to buy" thread yet (I don't think) but plenty on the forum will be happy to offer some advice.

Edwin jagger DE89 tends to be first razor of choice but Merkurs are also worth looking at, or are you thinking Vintage? I started with a New Forest Brush (and a Muhle) which I highly recommend.

Hold on to your credit cards though, your in for a fantastic hobby but an addictive one!

Welcome aboard, mate!

Yes, there's a chap selling a starter kit in the BST section - DO NOT be put off by it being a vintage razor. Two reasons: first, vintage razors rule, second, open combs rule, third ... okay, three reasons, the first DE you try will probably nick you regardless of how old or how aggressive - you build your technique as you go so diving into a great razor to start with, even if it is a little aggressive, is a good thing, fourth ... okay, okay ... "amongst my reasons are" :D ... it's a 'New' in good condition and that is only ever going to be a good thing for a DE shaver. British long combs are "the bomb", so to speak.

You get a bunch of soaps, including the VERY accessible Palmolive stick - wet face, rub it all over your face and lather up with the brush, wetting up if it's too dry. You get a bunch of blades, including the very excellent Gillette Sharp Edge which work out so well in the Gillette New, Rapira which is a stunning blade, Astra, again excellent, Personna reds also good to go.

But ...