top ten?

stolensocks said:
What is the top ten most collectible vintage blade makers as a noob I look at a lot of blades and don't know if they are worth it or not?

If you are going to use it nearly any vintage razor will make a good shaver, if you are more into the collecting.

Filamonia
dubl duck
wade and butcher
joseph rodgers
thiers Issard
Le grelot (kind of falls in the one above)
fitz braht dovo
Bartman

the list could grow and grow, but if you are looking for one of the real collectable brands in good condition be prepared to be a couple of hundred pounds lighter

Razors are worth what people are prepared to pay for them, and a collectable name may or may not be an indicator of superior quality. Of the razors I use, the one which most consistently impresses me is a plain Jane of unprepossessing appearance from an American cutlery company nobody seems to have heard of - the kind of thing I'd think twice about paying a tenner for.

A list of the best investment razors is bound to include brands like Wade & Butcher, Filarmonica, Puma and Dubl Duck - those are the obvious big money names.

Agree with the above list & sentiments.

Would like to add Heljestrands and the Gottas.

From experience the Grelots, and the Filamonica fetch good money on the bay of evil.

Preference is very personal, I've sold most of my non-framebacks, as I'm a frameback person,
although I agree these can be a bit viscous, so not for everyone.

Collectability depends also on the type 4/8, 5/8, 6/8, scales, condition (original scales etc..)

I have only 2 rescaled razors, all my others have original scales, I prefer them that way.
The 2 that have been rescaled, are also my few non-framebacks.
(and are very dear to me, since they were part of my first straights, and very original)

Rescaling is sometimes the only option if you want to revive a nice blade, but I think it'll lose collectors value in that case.

Max