Had a go at a restore

Well I'm no craftsman and my one attempt at scale making was poor but I found a razor in a collectables shop and got it for £5.

iyzt51.jpg

33z8ggj.jpg

Well I set to with some sand paper and then with some Autosol I wasn't aiming for a mirror finish as I like some age to show.

I have some horn that I ordered and never got round to using so I used one of the scales (they needed replacing as one was split) to draw a template and then altered the design a little bit.

I have never worked with horn before and don't really know what you should doe with it, I suppose I could have researched it 1st, but it stinks like burned hair when working it.

I rough cut it with a band saw then shaped it with a grind stone before refining it with various grades of sand and wet and dry paper. Since I'm not practised at peening I used M6 bolts to secure it and I managed to reuse the original lead spacer.

There were some chips in the blade that needed honing out and then I honed it using 3 layers of tape, finishing on a Naniwa 12K.

The maker looks like ATHENSON BROS Sheffield although I can't find any reference to them.

Here is the result.

iz179h.jpg

2le1eex.jpg

2myykab.jpg

261gqdh.jpg

nxqsyf.jpg

9zoqk4.jpg

nzls3q.jpg

zva64i.jpg

That looks pretty good Nic. Where did you get black bone?

I worked some giraffe bone scales recently, it was much harder than working with either wood or horn - no fun to sand at all.

Ooops it was getting a bit late last night, it was horn not bone! Edited the post to correct it, I bought it on ebay ages ago. The shave was great so I'm happy with it.

Very nice job, Nic! And a good shaver to boot - can't be bad!