Getting started...

I've just picked up an Ebay cheapie.

The maker is McLellan, Belfast, and it has 'The Hamburg Ring' inscribed on the blade. The condition generally seems pretty good - it flops about in the scales a bit, and there are some nasty-looking rust spots along the top of the spine, but nowhere else.

The blade actually seems in pretty good condition, perhaps actually shave-ready (I've not tried, but the slightest touch takes off the hairs on the back of my hand).

I'm totally new to this, but I guess the place to start is by getting off the rust? I'm guessing I need sandpaper, but as a total newbie, I'd be grateful if someone would give me some idea exactly what sort/grades I'll need. I've always been a book/computer guy, rather than a hands-on craft-y guy.

Any advice gratefully received. I really think that if I can just get the rust off this it will be ready to use.

While I'm not trying to promote another forum over TSR - if you take a look at the Straight Razor Place forum you will get lots of advice on how to go about restoration and what equipment is best. The reason I advise this is because it will also give you some safety tips. You don't have to join SRP to take a look at their 'How to' section.