First shave with a Schick.

So my latest acquisition is the Schick. This is the Type G I believe. It came from that Bay of E in Cyberland for about £15 posted. A quick soak in hot water and a scrub brought it up a treat. No polish used in these pics. Lovely brass head. Have I mentioned I like brass??? Shiny.

dc78de4b-4dfb-4e0c-aa23-1cb08fd0b198_zpswkrruofl.jpg

So a new Personna blade in from Connaughtshaving and we're good to go. I've never used a Schick before and to be honest I was a bit wary of it because of some of the things I've read about it being aggressive etc.

So the shave...Actually a good un for a first attempt with this little beauty. I wasn't going for the best shave ever not with an unknown set up and I considered the Personna blade might be similar to a GEM Personna, which can be a tad nippy on the first shave. That said I'm happy with the result. Worth mentioning is I had a cold shave...No hot water at all. Prep and shave all in cold water, and I used Ingrams cream for the first time. Well it's more like thin toothpaste than cream but lathered up like Arko in that cold water. And somebody musta stole the menthol because I didn't find any in mine. I think I like it though.

67653bcc-ca58-40e8-bf65-d85e7ce7f918_zpswgfnlqh1.jpg

So no cuts, weepers or amputations and a shave not far from as smooth as my missus's armpit. Easy peasy and not scary after all. Get the angle wrong though and it's like a chainsaw. Get it right it's lovely and smooth. Nice. I'm left with a little sensitivity on the neck. I always get some no matter what I use, have done for 35 years even with an electric shaver so I don't shave every day. This is actually minimal though and I'm pleased with the outcome.