DIY ale

I've done it on and off for the best part of 30 years now - it can be as good (or bad) as you want... depends what you're looking for: when I started out, I was a poor student in a house full of brewers (bedroom 5 in the house was "the brewery" with 10 or 12 fermenting bins on the go at all times, it was quantity over quality there... now when I whack a brew on, it's all about the quality not the quantity.

I used to make my own beer, I have not made any for quite a while (20+ years) but I occasionally think of taking it up again.

As hunnymonster says it can be as good or as bad as you want but even with the best will in the world it can be a little hit and miss, and you never really know how good your brew will be until you actually try it. I've made made some excellent brews but I've made a couple or three rough ones as well!:icon_eek:

When it comes right it's beautiful! I'll swear it's as good as anything you can buy. A halt to the career has left me with time on my hands and the ferocious pub prices (combined with reduced income) has made me think of taking it up again.........

We'll wait and see!

Thanks Honeymonster and Mattlad.

To produce, say, 12 pints worth of product per week, what sort of investment in kit should I be looking to spend?

Are there any regulations to how much product you can produce, or, if you brew too much, are you allowed to sell it to recover the material costs?

Someone I once worked with was quite a keen brewer and had sheds of kit and expensive plumbing work done, he said he could occasionally sell a keg or two at a very small profit, he has since left the country and I'm not able to quiz him on the details, would this have been above board?

Only started last year using kits from Woodfordes. Approx 18 quid to make 40 pints after the initial cost of about 40 quid for the bin and keg.

Must get one on in next few weeks.

Half decent quality but need more pratice before i start attempting something more serious.