A couple of Saito straights

I've been working on a couple of these Saito razors recently - the number 2 in black horn and number 1 in Corian. I wasted a few days work making some scales in Thuya burl - only for them to split as I was fitting them.

Anyway, I got the idea for using Corian (think kitchen worksurface) from Macrob. It's a material I would use again - much better than some of these ivory replacements that are touted.

Hi,

These look lovely.

Novice question of the day..... how the heck do you shave with one of those?!?!? I guesss it is an entirely different technique to the normal...straight... ones?

Matt

MPH said:
Hi,

These look lovely.

Novice question of the day..... how the heck do you shave with one of those?!?!? I guesss it is an entirely different technique to the normal...straight... ones?

Matt

Well to be honest MPH I'm a novice myself with these aas I've used the black one just once and the white needs honing.

You are right about a different approach though - they work best - and were presumably designed for a scything stroke. That type of stroke is quite often used with ordinary straight razors as well. It's a thing that needs a bit of experience to do properly but it achieves something akin to using a slant - although that is more accurately a guillotine action. Anyway, the idea is that beard growth is sliced through rather than just chopped off if you get my meaning.

Very nice Rob, the second picture somewhat resembles a pair of heels. Do you actually use the whole blade or just the apex of the curve?

Nishy said:
Very nice Rob, the second picture somewhat resembles a pair of heels. Do you actually use the whole blade or just the apex of the curve?