New shaver questions and advice

Hello all,
I recently purchased my first straight razor from Fergiebilly, a wonderful Solingen Hamburg Ring, and was attempting my first shave with it, which went very well, probably the smoothest shaver I've ever tried, but a few questions came to mind which I thought I'd ask all you experts here.
1) I have a strop, but when I place my blade across it, the strop only comes to half way along the blade, have I bought one which is too narrow?
2) A follow up, is there a way to practice stropping without ruining the razor?
3) All the videos I've seen recommended shaving the right side with your right hand, and vice versa for the left, but when attempting the left, I felt like I had very little control over my left hand, as I'm not very good with it in general. Is it the best way to shave with the corresponding hand, or is there a way to shave with only the right hand, or will I eventually just get better with my left?

Jack

Hello all,
I recently purchased my first straight razor from Fergiebilly, a wonderful Solingen Hamburg Ring, and was attempting my first shave with it, which went very well, probably the smoothest shaver I've ever tried, but a few questions came to mind which I thought I'd ask all you experts here.
1) I have a strop, but when I place my blade across it, the strop only comes to half way along the blade, have I bought one which is too narrow?
2) A follow up, is there a way to practice stropping without ruining the razor?
3) All the videos I've seen recommended shaving the right side with your right hand, and vice versa for the left, but when attempting the left, I felt like I had very little control over my left hand, as I'm not very good with it in general. Is it the best way to shave with the corresponding hand, or is there a way to shave with only the right hand, or will I eventually just get better with my left?

Jack