Making lather in a shaving bowl

hi all I'm after some advice.

I've been wet shaving for years and with brush and soap for about a year, DE for 3 months or so. I have had no problem getting a lather with my Taylor of old Bond Street sandalwood hard soap and my old boar hair brush and hand lathering.

For Christmas my better half bought me an Edwin Jagger bulldog bowl and tradional shaving pure badger brush. My first attempts with the new brush and bowl combo were a disaster and I had to go back to the old brush and hand lathering.

I have figured out from reading a few posts that I was using to much water with the badger brush and can now hand lather with it, but still fail if I try the bowl.

Anyone have any advice?!

Thanks in advance!!

Hi tom, i am by no means an expert but have you tried face lathering.
i bowl lathered for years untill i tried face lathering, so much easier
as you can feel as well as see if the lather is too dry or too wet,
give it a try. nothing to lose

I've been wet shaving for years and with brush and soap for about a year, DE for 3 months or so. I have had no problem getting a lather with my Taylor of old Bond Street sandalwood hard soap and my old boar hair brush and hand lathering.

For Christmas my better half bought me an Edwin Jagger bulldog bowl and tradional shaving pure badger brush. My first attempts with the new brush and bowl combo were a disaster and I had to go back to the old brush and hand lathering.

I have figured out from reading a few posts that I was using to much water with the badger brush and can now hand lather with it, but still fail if I try the bowl.

Anyone have any advice?!

Thanks in advance!!
Your brush shouldn't be too wet, load the soap 'till your wrist hurts then start hammering the bowl with the loaded brush, slowly add more water- a few drops at a time. That's it.

Sorry for last reply, an answer to a question that was not asked.
Tobs sandalwood was my first cream i used and when i started