Just got my first straight razor...

This is my first post here and I am completely new to using a straight razor. After doing some online research, I decided to invest in a Dovo straight razor and a Kanayama strop. I just received them and started using it after watching some YouTube videos.

My first shave was a bit rough. I had not shaved in 3 days and the razor was painfully tugging away along my face. So I used the strop, however, I did not notice any difference. I ended shaving with a disposable razor. I am not sure what I was doing wrong. I was expecting a much smoother shave - at least better than the disposable twin-blade razor.

I just ordered a set of Norton sharpening stones after watching another YouTube video. Does the Dovo straight razor come ready-to-use? Or does it require sharpening first?

This is my first post here and I am completely new to using a straight razor. After doing some online research, I decided to invest in a Dovo straight razor and a Kanayama strop. I just received them and started using it after watching some YouTube videos.

My first shave was a bit rough. I had not shaved in 3 days and the razor was painfully tugging away along my face. So I used the strop, however, I did not notice any difference. I ended shaving with a disposable razor. I am not sure what I was doing wrong. I was expecting a much smoother shave - at least better than the disposable twin-blade razor.

I just ordered a set of Norton sharpening stones after watching another YouTube video. Does the Dovo straight razor come ready-to-use? Or does it require sharpening first?
Welcome to TSR.
Well I see this all too often, it seems a lot of razors purchased including Dovo's will need some form of honing from the get go before they will be up to a standard fit for shaving.
It's great that you are jumping in with both feet and are learning to straight shave, strop and use a full set of stones all at once.