Hi guys

Paul L

Chief GOW
Hi guys,

As my username suggests my name is Paul.
I've had a love/hate relationship with a Merkur Futur razor for quite a few years!
I've mostly used Trumper creams for around a decade. My favourite Trumper cream is GFT for scent but I got on better with their Sandalwood cream. I've also gone through many pots of Body Shop Maca cream over the last few years.
I've been using a Mason Pearson pure badger brush for around six years.
My first question for you guys is, are there more forgiving double edge razors than the Merkur Futur?
You would think by now I would've mastered my razor, but it's like shaving with a machete on occasion !

Hi guys,

As my username suggests my name is Paul.
I've had a love/hate relationship with a Merkur Futur razor for quite a few years!
I've mostly used Trumper creams for around a decade. My favourite Trumper cream is GFT for scent but I got on better with their Sandalwood cream. I've also gone through many pots of Body Shop Maca cream over the last few years.
I've been using a Mason Pearson pure badger brush for around six years.
My first question for you guys is, are there more forgiving double edge razors than the Merkur Futur?
You would think by now I would've mastered my razor, but it's like shaving with a machete on occasion !
Hello Paul, as for your question, the answer is yes. If you like Merkur and want an adjustable try a progress. :) Welcome to TSR.

Last edited:
Hi Paul,
A welcome to TSR from the Highlands of Scotland.

I'm a big fan of the head on the Merkur closed comb razors. For years I was shaving with a EJ 86 and happy and then tried the Merkur 34C. Personally, the EJ head felt a bit too agressive in comparison and the 34C was just right. IMO definitely worth trying.

Andy.

Thank you all for the warm welcome!

I think, having read a fair few comments in the general shaving forum that the issues I am experiencing with my Merkur Futur are most likely due to my technique.