Gillette 195 (Fatboy) advice

First off this kinda covers two sub forums this one and the de blades one, I decided to put it here as the razor is in the title,
Now I am calling on your advice I had a lovely shave yesterday as I am new to this razor and adjustable razors, Yesterday I had a 48 hour growth and used a polsilver Si blade set at 6 WTG and 4 XTG, great shave today I used a new Polsilver SI blade set at 5 WTG and 5 XTG, a smooth shave but didn't feel great, also to note it really stung when I used the alum block as oppose to yesterday, now my question is this, is the blade too sharp for me or is the razor set too high how would I know the difference?
I am meticulous with my angle but as I am new to this razor it probably isn't perfect.

Assuming the two blades are the same, the fact that you went more aggressive on ATG on the 2nd shave, the answer would seem to be that 5 is too high to use ATG.
ATG as in against the grain? I never go against the grain only with the grain then cross the grain at 45 degree to the growth roughly

Ah, XTG means across the grain. Answer would be the same though. It's the only thing that's changed, apart from going milder with the grain on the 2nd shave.
I'm new to the polsilver si aswell as the fatboy, probably not the best to try various settings out I usually use Gillette Silver Blue, I think I'll try with lower settings
Thanks

How many shaves had you had with the blade? A blunt blade can cause irritation.
Edit: just reread it, new blade :oops:
Try again with 6 wtg and 5 xtg and see if it's as good as the previous time.

Last edited: