First straight shave...coming soon

Right so in the attempt to be super manly, I got my self a vintage crown and sword straight. Seller kindly made it shave ready so thinking of giving it a bash tomorrow. I always wanted to use one after buying a Henckels I never seen before around the same time as getting my DE.

I have also bought a GD, which said it was shave ready but will need that sorted as may need honing too.

I have been using my DE and shavette for the last 3 years, so ready for a new challenge. Any advise would be appreciated..

I still need to order a strop and possible honing stones - any idea which grits I will need.

Well..1st..I Would Forget the Honing Stones & Learn to Shave & Strop..Yeah..Most Don't Listen..There is NO Point on Putting any Razor on a Stone if One Cant Shave & Strop Naturally with an SR..It Just Confuses Folks..That's Like Running before One has Learned to Walk..:)

That Been Said..A Naniwa 12 K Finishing Stone will Maintain a Razor for a Very Long Time that's Been PROPERLY Honed in the 1st Place..For a Full Progression I Use a Naniwa Super Stone 1 K, 3 K, 5 K, 8 K, 12 K Progression..I May use a Higher Grit Natural Finisher After..;)

Some Don't Use the 3 K & Go from the 1 K to the 5 K & that's Fine..But for Beginners I Would Recommend the 3 K in the Progression Cause it Still Falls into the Realms of a Good Bevel Stone from the 1 K..Over 90 % of Honing Errors are on the Bevel Hone & Lower Grit Hones..The 3 K Can Help a Beginner Coming Off the 1 K Stone to Set a Proper Bevel..Its Very Beginner Friendly & it Can Help with Beginner Errors from the 1 K Stone..See the Beginner Advice on this Thread..:D
http://theshaveden.com/forums/threads/what-combination-of-stones-do-i-need-to-set-the-bevel.57461/

Billy

Last edited:
Thanks Billy, I was a little worried about the whole honing process.
The shaving is my key goal, as no point in investing in stones if I don't like it or if I prefer my DE